Business Rajasthan

Rajasthan tops country in PM-KUSUM capacity with 5.2 Gw

Rajasthan ranks first in the country in capacity under the PM-KUSUM scheme, state Energy Department secretary Aarti Dogra said. About 5.20 Gw has been installed under Components A and C, and the state crossed the 5 Gw mark in July 2026, she said. At a review meeting chaired by Chief Secretary V Srinivas, officials were directed to focus on vendor training for PM Surya Ghar Yojana. Around 14,000 rooftop solar systems are installed monthly; DISCOMs aim to double this by December 2026.

Source

Business Standard · read the original report ↗

#pm-kusum#solar energy#rajasthan#pm surya ghar#discoms

Desk check · compared with the source

What the desk checked (5)
  • Rajasthan ranks first in the country in PM-KUSUM capacity, with about 5.20 Gw installed under Components A and C. — Attributed to Energy Department secretary Aarti Dogra; figure appears in source, no independent data cited.
  • The state crossed the 5 Gw mark in July 2026. — Attributed to Dogra; date appears in source as stated.
  • About 14,000 rooftop solar systems are installed per month on average, and DISCOMs aim to double this by December 2026. — Attributed to Dogra in the source; target is a stated aim, not an achievement.
  • Chief Secretary V Srinivas directed the department to train more vendors and improve grievance redressal and real-time monitoring. — Attributed to the review meeting chaired by Srinivas; directives reported without direct quotes.
  • Rajasthan launched a scheme in October 2025 giving 150 free units of electricity a month to domestic consumers installing rooftop solar. — Stated in source and attributed to Dogra; scheme details not otherwise sourced.

Analysts’ view opinion

AI ఆర్థిక విశ్లేషకులు · తెలుగు

రాజస్థాన్‌లో పీఎం-కుసుం కింద 5.20 గిగావాట్ల సామర్థ్యం ఏర్పడటం అంటే, వ్యవసాయ విద్యుత్ డిమాండ్‌ను పగటిపూట సౌర విద్యుత్‌తో తీర్చే దిశగా రాష్ట్రం ముందుకు కదులుతోందని అర్థం — ఇది డిస్కంల ఖరీదైన పీక్-టైమ్ కొనుగోళ్లను, రైతులకు ఇచ్చే సబ్సిడీ భారాన్ని కొంత తగ్గించే అవకాశం ఉంది. రూఫ్‌టాప్ విభాగంలో నెలకు 14,000 సిస్టమ్‌ల వేగాన్ని రెట్టింపు చేయాలన్న లక్ష్యం డిమాండ్ వైపు కాదు, సరఫరా వైపు — అంటే వెండార్ల సంఖ్య, నైపుణ్యం, ఫైనాన్సింగ్ — పరిమితి ఉందని పరోక్షంగా చెబుతోంది; అందుకే వెండార్ శిక్షణపై దృష్టి. 150 యూనిట్ల ఉచిత విద్యుత్ పథకం వినియోగదారుల ఆసక్తిని పెంచినట్టు అధికారులు చెబుతున్నారు, కానీ ఉచిత విద్యుత్ ఖర్చు ఎవరు భరిస్తారన్నది ఈ కథనంలో స్పష్టం కాలేదు.

  • పగటిపూట సౌర ఉత్పత్తి పెరిగితే డిస్కంలు బయటి మార్కెట్‌లో ఖరీదుగా కొనే అవసరం తగ్గి, రాష్ట్ర సబ్సిడీ బిల్లుపై ఒత్తిడి కొంత సడలవచ్చు.
  • రూఫ్‌టాప్ ఇన్‌స్టాలేషన్ల వేగం రెట్టింపు కావాలంటే స్థానికంగా ఎలక్ట్రీషియన్లు, ఇన్‌స్టాలర్లు, సర్వీసింగ్ రూపంలో ఉపాధి పెరుగుతుంది — ఇది శ్రమ-సాంద్రత ఎక్కువగా ఉండే విభాగం.
  • ప్రయోజనాలు ప్రధానంగా సొంత ఇల్లు, పైకప్పు, ముందస్తు పెట్టుబడి సామర్థ్యం ఉన్నవారికే చేరతాయి; అద్దెదారులు, చిన్న ఇళ్ల వినియోగదారులు వెనుకబడే ప్రమాదం ఉంది.
  • ఉచిత యూనిట్ల పథకం వినియోగాన్ని ప్రోత్సహిస్తూనే, డిస్కంల నుంచి వచ్చే రెవెన్యూను తగ్గించే అవకాశం ఉన్నందున ఆర్థిక భారం ఎక్కడ కేంద్రీకృతమవుతుందో గమనించాలి.
  • ట్రాన్స్‌ఫార్మర్లు, ఫీడర్లపై రియల్-టైమ్ మానిటరింగ్ అనేది కేవలం సాంకేతిక అంశం కాదు — పంపిణీ నష్టాలు, ఫాల్ట్ ఖర్చులు తగ్గించడం ద్వారా డిస్కంల ఆర్థిక ఆరోగ్యానికి ముడిపడిన అంశం.

What to watch — డిసెంబరు 2026 నాటికి నెలవారీ రూఫ్‌టాప్ ఇన్‌స్టాలేషన్లు నిజంగా రెట్టింపు అవుతున్నాయా, ఆ వేగానికి తగ్గ శిక్షణ పొందిన వెండార్లు అందుబాటులోకి వస్తున్నారా అన్నదే కీలక సూచిక.

ఈ కథనం సామర్థ్యం ఏర్పాటు గురించి మాత్రమే చెబుతోంది — వాస్తవ విద్యుత్ ఉత్పత్తి, పెట్టుబడి మొత్తం, సబ్సిడీ ఖర్చు, డిస్కంల ఆర్థిక స్థితిపై ప్రభావం లేదా టారిఫ్‌లపై ప్రభావం గురించి ఎలాంటి గణాంకాలూ ఇందులో లేవు.

Deep dive

Research brief · 8 facts · 4 dates · exam-ready

The brief

Context

Rajasthan's Energy Department, at a review meeting chaired by Chief Secretary V Srinivas, reported that the state now leads India in installed capacity under the PM-KUSUM scheme, which supports solar capacity for the farm sector. Energy Department secretary Aarti Dogra said about 5.20 Gw has been installed under PM-KUSUM Components A and C, with the 5 Gw mark crossed in July 2026. The meeting also reviewed the rooftop solar push under PM Surya Ghar Yojana, consumer grievance redressal on the Rajasthan Sampark Portal, and real-time monitoring of the power system.

Key facts

  • Rajasthan ranks first in the country in installed capacity under the PM-KUSUM scheme, per Energy Department secretary Aarti Dogra.
  • About 5.20 Gw has been installed in Rajasthan under PM-KUSUM Components A and C.
  • The state crossed the 5 Gw mark under PM-KUSUM in July 2026.
  • Around 14,000 rooftop solar systems are currently being installed per month on average in Rajasthan.
  • DISCOMs aim to double the monthly rooftop solar installation pace by December 2026.
  • Rajasthan launched a scheme in October 2025 offering 150 units of free electricity a month to domestic consumers who install rooftop solar systems.
  • Chief Secretary V Srinivas directed the department to train the maximum possible number of vendors through capacity-building workshops for PM Surya Ghar Yojana.
  • Grievance redressal status of the Jaipur, Ajmer and Jodhpur DISCOMs was assessed at the review meeting.

Timeline

  1. October 2025Rajasthan government launches scheme offering 150 units of free electricity a month for domestic consumers installing rooftop solar.
  2. July 2026Rajasthan crosses the 5 Gw mark in installed capacity under PM-KUSUM.
  3. Review meeting (date not stated in the source)Energy Department review chaired by Chief Secretary V Srinivas; 5.20 Gw PM-KUSUM figure and rooftop solar targets reported.
  4. By December 2026DISCOMs target doubling monthly rooftop solar installations under PM Surya Ghar Yojana.

Who has a stake

  • Rajasthan Energy Department (secretary Aarti Dogra) — Implements PM-KUSUM and PM Surya Ghar Yojana; reports capacity progress and installation targets.
  • Chief Secretary V Srinivas — Chaired the review; directed vendor capacity building, grievance resolution and real-time monitoring.
  • Jaipur, Ajmer and Jodhpur DISCOMs — Responsible for grievance redressal and for doubling rooftop solar installation pace by December 2026.
  • Domestic electricity consumers — Eligible for 150 free units a month on installing rooftop solar; depend on prompt complaint resolution.
  • Solar vendors and installers — Targeted for capacity-building workshops and training to accelerate PM Surya Ghar rollout.
  • Farmers (PM-KUSUM beneficiaries) — Beneficiaries of solar capacity under Components A and C of PM-KUSUM.

Why it matters

Rajasthan's 5.20 Gw under PM-KUSUM shows how a high-solar-potential state can convert central scheme funds into large-scale distributed generation, easing farm power subsidy burdens on DISCOMs. The parallel rooftop solar push, backed by 150 free units a month, links household energy savings to grid decentralisation. Whether installations can double by December 2026 depends largely on vendor capacity and DISCOM service quality.

UPSC angle

Prelims pointers

  • PM-KUSUM: Rajasthan ranks first nationally in installed capacity, at about 5.20 Gw under Components A and C.
  • Rajasthan crossed 5 Gw under PM-KUSUM in July 2026.
  • PM Surya Ghar Yojana: rooftop solar scheme; Rajasthan installs about 14,000 systems a month, targeting double by December 2026.
  • Rajasthan's October 2025 state scheme gives 150 units of free electricity a month to domestic rooftop solar adopters.
  • Rajasthan Sampark Portal is used to register and track power-sector consumer grievances.
  • Rajasthan's DISCOMs reviewed for grievance redressal: Jaipur, Ajmer and Jodhpur.

Mains framing

Rajasthan's emergence as the country's leader in PM-KUSUM capacity, with about 5.20 Gw under Components A and C and the 5 Gw mark crossed in July 2026, illustrates the payoff of pairing high solar irradiance and land availability with centrally sponsored decentralised generation. The state's second front is household rooftop solar under PM Surya Ghar Yojana, where roughly 14,000 installations a month are to be doubled by December 2026 — a target the Chief Secretary linked explicitly to vendor capacity building through training workshops, implying that the binding constraint is now installation and service capability rather than consumer demand. Demand itself has been stimulated by the state's October 2025 offer of 150 free units a month to domestic consumers installing rooftop systems. The review's other emphases — quality resolution of grievances registered on the Rajasthan Sampark Portal across the Jaipur, Ajmer and Jodhpur DISCOMs, regularly updated scheme dashboards, and real-time monitoring of transformers, feeders and substations with fault forecasting — point to the way forward: distributed solar scale-up is only as credible as the distribution utility's ability to connect, monitor and serve consumers transparently.

Key terms

PM-KUSUM
Central scheme under which solar capacity is installed; Rajasthan leads with about 5.20 Gw under Components A and C.
Components A and C (PM-KUSUM)
The two PM-KUSUM components under which Rajasthan's 5.20 Gw capacity has been installed; details not stated in the source.
PM Surya Ghar Yojana
Rooftop solar scheme being implemented by Rajasthan DISCOMs, with vendor capacity building flagged as key to faster rollout.
DISCOM
Power distribution company; Rajasthan's Jaipur, Ajmer and Jodhpur DISCOMs were reviewed for grievance redressal.
Rajasthan Sampark Portal
State platform where power-sector consumer grievances are registered and tracked.
Gigawatt (Gw)
Unit of power capacity equal to 1,000 megawatts; used to measure Rajasthan's 5.20 Gw PM-KUSUM installations.

Practice questions

  1. Examine how state-level incentives such as Rajasthan's 150 free units a month can accelerate rooftop solar adoption under PM Surya Ghar Yojana, and what constraints remain.
  2. Rajasthan leads the country with about 5.20 Gw under PM-KUSUM. Discuss the role of decentralised solar generation in easing the burden on power distribution companies.
  3. Why is vendor capacity building and real-time monitoring of transformers, feeders and substations critical to scaling distributed solar? Illustrate with the Rajasthan case.

Grounded only in the source report — figures and dates are the source's, not inferred.

Next storyNew GDP series brings double deflation into wider public discussion →
← All stories